Search Results
Inland and coastal wetlands agencies
8 Campus Dr, Madison, CT 06443

The inland and coastal wetlands agencies include the Office of the Inland Wetlands Agency and the state Department ofMore Environmental Protection, Office of Long Island Sound. The Inland Wetlands Agency monitors town wetlands that contain only fresh water and poorly drained soils. The Department of Environmental Protection, Office of Long Island Sound watches over coastal wetlands, also known as tidal wetlands.

The town's Inland Wetlands Agency includes seven members and three alternates. The Inlands Wetlands Agency meets the first Monday of the month at 7:30pm in Meeting Room A at the Madison Town Campus, 8 Campus Drive, unless meetings are cancelled. The meeting schedule is posted online. Robert Kuchta is the town's Inland Wetlands Officer. 

To find out more about regulations relating to coastal wetlands or tidal wetlands, visit the state Department of Environmental Protection, Office of Long Island Sound web page.  The state DEP's town assignments and contact information are also available online.  Madison is part of the DEP's Eastern District, which includes the shoreline from Branford to Stonington.

For additional information about government agencies and organizations that help monitor the Long Island Sound wetlands, visit the Long Island Sound Resource Center.

The wetlands provide buffers from the wind, shade and natural air conditioning, keep water from flooding non-wetland areas, and keep wells and reservoirs filled in times of drought. Wetlands also provide habitats for plants and animals and help moderate the earth's temperature.

Inland Wetland Agency website: http://www.madisonct.org/Inland_Wetlands/faq.html; address, 8 Campus Drive, Madison, CT 06443.

Department of Environmental Protection, Long Island Sound: website, http://www.ct.gov/dep/cwp/view.asp?A=2705&Q=323790; address, 79 Elm Street
Hartford, CT 06106

Department of Finance
8 Campus Dr, Madison, CT 06443

The Department of Finance helps manage the town's accounts, payroll, treasury and other fiscal affairs. TheMore department's responsibilities include making a summary of town expenditures, appropriations, and current balances of reserve and capital project funds.

The department then prepares a report with that information to be presented at regular meetings of the Board of Finance. The department also is responsible for preparing an accounting procedures manual relating to town government financial and accounting activities, which is then approved by a vote of the Board of Finance. Dorothy Bavin is the director of finance and Arthur Williams is the town's accountant and assistant treasurer.

See more »