.

Winter Vacation Week At RJJ!

"We've got a ton of fun things going on this week--and they're all free!"

 

This information is provided by RJ Julia Booksellers in Madison, CT

February 18-February 22, Winter Vacation Week!

We've got a ton of fun things going on this week--and they're all free! Check out our schedule below. Please go to the bookstore website to find out more and register for these events. Or, you can call the phone number at the bottom of this article to find out more and register.

  •  2/18 at 10:30am: Introducing Saige: American Girl of the Year!* This event is sold out. Please call the store with any inquiries.
  • 2/19 at 10:30am: DINO-Mite Dinosaurs with Special Guest BOB SHEA
  • 2/20 at 10:30am: Laugh Along with Elephant & Piggie!
  • 2/21 at 10:30am: Special Storytime: Playful Pets!
  • 2/22 at 10:30am: We're Going on a Book Hunt!

Also, 

Wednesday, February 20, 4pm: Peter Lerangis. Seven Wonders Book 1: The Colossus Rises~Ages 8+

"Jack McKinley is an ordinary kid with an extraordinary problem. In a few months, he'll die if he doesn't find seven magic loculi (relics from a lost civilization) that, when combined, have the power to cure him. Can he do it?" R.J. Julia's is SO excited to host the incredible Peter Lerangis for the first book in his newest Seven Wonders series: The Colossus Rises. Our booksellers are wild about this one, so we hope you like it just as much as we do! Join Peter Lerangis for the first installment in this sure-to-be epic series. Free, reservations required. Please go to the bookstore website to find out more and register.

Young Adult News

May we recommend...

Shards and Ashes, Various Authors

This powerful collection of short stories takes on the Dystopian genre in a whole new way.  Normally, I'm not really a fan of story collections but once I saw the caliber of authors involved, I decided to give it a try. I was not disappointed one bit. With authors such as Melissa Marr, Kelly Armstrong, Kami Garcia and Veronica Roth (one of my all-time favorites) there is not one weak spot in the bunch. Fans of James Dashner, Marie Lu and any one of the fantastic authors in this collection will be sure to love Shards and Ashes.  Be sure to pick up your copy when this amazing collection hits our shelves on February 19th!~ Kathy (Ages 13+)

From Our Advanced Reader Club

Girl Meets Ghost, Lauren Barnholdt

"In the book Girl Meets Ghost, the main character is Kendall. She seems like an average girl in the seventh grade. But Kendall is not as normal as she seems: she can see and hear ghosts! In this book, she has to help a ghost girl named Daniella. Kendall has to find out what Daniella needs to do before she passes. During the whole book, Kendall has to deal with her over-protective dad and an enormous crush on a boy named Brandon." I really liked this book. It had some suspense and I couldn't put it down since i got it! ~ Grace   Age 11

Looking Ahead

Mark your calendars!

Thursday, February 21, 7pm

Edward Ball, The Inventor and the Tycoon: A Gilded Age of Murder and the Birth of Moving Pictures ~Biography 

Free, registration is required. Please go to the bookstore website to find out more and register.

Friday, February 22, 7pm

Tim Dorsey, The Riptide Ultra-Glide ~Fiction

Free, registration is required. Please go to the bookstore website to find out more and register.

Saturday, February 23, 2pm

Elisabeth Breslav, That Mad Game ~War

Free, registration is required. Please go to the bookstore website to find out more and register.

Saturday, February 23, 7pm

Michael Hainey, After Visiting Friends ~Memoir

Free, registration is required. Please go to the bookstore website to find out more and register.

R.J. Julia Booksellers

768 Boston Post Road

Madison, CT 06443

web: rjjulia.com

email: books@rjjulia.com

phone: 203-245-3959 or 800-74-READS

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »